Justice · Wednesday, September 2, 2026
DOJ says it seized about $560,000 in cryptocurrency and Hamas-linked domains
The File desk · Sep 2, 2026, 1:35 PM UTC
Status
Confirmed as a Justice Department announcement and as an unsealed D.D.C. seizure-warrant package (Case No. 26-sz-49). The ~$560,000 figure is from the OPA release. The affidavit’s “over $3,000,000 in donations through in or around November 2025” is the affiant’s assessment, distinct from the seized amount.
- Confirmed
On Sept. 1, 2026, DOJ said it disrupted a Hamas (Al Qassam Brigades) fundraising scheme: over $560,000 in cryptocurrency donations destined for Hamas were seized, and domains and servers used for fundraising and recruitment, including infrastructure tied to AlQassam.ps, were taken.
- Confirmed
The unsealed D.D.C. package, Case No. 26-sz-49, is an application and warrant to seize a server at IP 45.134.141.68 held by DataCamp Limited, London. Magistrate Judge Matthew J. Sharbaugh; application dated Aug. 18, 2026. The affidavit refers to related warrant 26-sz-45 seizing a GTHost server hosting alqassam.ps. The affiant assessed that the financing network “received over $3,000,000 in donations through in or around November 2025.”
On Sept. 1, 2026, the Justice Department said it disrupted a Hamas (Al Qassam Brigades) fundraising scheme: more than $560,000 in cryptocurrency donations destined for Hamas were seized, and domains and servers used for fundraising and recruitment, including capture of infrastructure tied to AlQassam.ps, were taken. An unsealed D.D.C. seizure-warrant package, Case No. 26-sz-49, names Magistrate Judge Matthew J. Sharbaugh, an application date of Aug. 18, 2026, and IP 45.134.141.68 at DataCamp Limited, London. The affidavit refers to related warrant 26-sz-45 on a GTHost server hosting alqassam.ps, and says the network “received over $3,000,000 in donations through in or around November 2025” — the affiant’s figure, distinct from the ~$560,000 seized in the OPA release. DOJ said three unsealed cryptocurrency seizure warrants dated March 25, 2025, June 25, 2025, and Oct. 10, 2025, are part of the tracing. FBI Albuquerque is investigating; prosecuted in D.C.
The Justice Department said on Sept. 1, 2026: “As part of the Department’s efforts, over $560,000 in cryptocurrency donations destined for Hamas were seized and its fundraising and recruitment communication platforms and websites were disrupted.”
DOJ said Hamas originally controlled the seized infrastructure and cryptocurrency addresses on behalf of its military wing, the Al Qassam Brigades. As described in three unsealed cryptocurrency seizure warrants dated March 25, 2025, June 25, 2025, and Oct. 10, 2025, investigators used information from multiple human sources to identify, trace, and seize approximately $560,000 in cryptocurrency intended to support Hamas’ Al Qassam Brigades, the release said.
DOJ said the FBI’s Albuquerque Field Office worked to identify and seize domains and servers the Al Qassam Brigades used for its main website, AlQassam.ps. The case is being investigated by FBI Albuquerque and prosecuted in the District of Columbia.
The unsealed warrant package posted with the OPA release is captioned Case No. 26-sz-49, District of Columbia, In the Matter of the Seizure of a Server Held by an Internet Service Provider. It lists Magistrate Judge Matthew J. Sharbaugh and an application date of Aug. 18, 2026. Attachment A-1 identifies the subject server as IP address 45.134.141.68, with DataCamp Limited, 9 Coldbath Square, London, United Kingdom, as the electronic service infrastructure provider.
The same affidavit says the FBI served related seizure warrant 26-sz-45, issued by that court, seizing the GTHost server hosting alqassam.ps. On blockchain analysis, the affiant wrote that the financing network “received over $3,000,000 in donations through in or around November 2025.” That is the affidavit’s assessment. It is not the same figure as the OPA release’s “over $560,000 in cryptocurrency donations destined for Hamas were seized.”
What is still unknown or disputed
- Current remaining infrastructure is not stated.
- How much of the $560,000 maps to each warrant is not stated in the release.
- How the affidavit’s “over $3,000,000” donation assessment relates, if at all, to the OPA seized-amount of over $560,000 is not explained in the materials fetched.
Primary sources
Every claim in this story is drawn from the documents below. If a fetch failed, that is recorded on the card.
Source 1
Justice Department Continues to Disrupt Hamas Terrorist Financing Schemes Through Seizures of Cryptocurrency and Internet Infrastructure
U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Public Affairs · September 1, 2026
As part of the Department’s efforts, over $560,000 in cryptocurrency donations destined for Hamas were seized and its fundraising and recruitment communication platforms and websites were disrupted. As described in the three unsealed cryptocurrency seizure warrants, on March 25, 2025, June 25, 2025, and Oct. 10, 2025, investigators used information from multiple human sources to identify, trace, and seize approximately $560,000 in cryptocurrency intended to support Hamas’ Al Qassam Brigades.
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-continues-disrupt-hamas-terrorist-financing-schemes-through-seizures
Source 2
Application and warrant to seize property subject to forfeiture, Case No. 26-sz-49 (cleaned, redacted)
U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia (posted by DOJ OPA) · August 18, 2026
Case No. 26-sz-49. Magistrate Judge Matthew J. Sharbaugh. Application dated 08/18/2026. Subject server IP Address: 45.134.141.68, DataCamp Limited, 9 Coldbath Square, London, United Kingdom. Affidavit: based on blockchain analysis, I assess that this financing network has been operating since in or around October 2024 and received over $3,000,000 in donations through in or around November 2025. Related: FBI served seizure warrant 26-sz-45 seizing the GTHost server hosting alqassam.ps.
https://www.justice.gov/opa/media/1459811/dl?inline=